Some reflections on “heresy” and charity

01/15/2024 § 11 Comments

Friends, to put it mildly, have never been free of differences of opinion, and even faction. Nor should this be surprising, since factions appear throughout Christianity — and just about every other faith or ideology that one can name. (Indeed ,Rufus Jones once wrote a little. book called The Church’s debt to heretics.)
There are times when difference has resulted in tension or hostility, even schism. Such divisions, and the many little seams and fractures that be seen in Quakerism at whatever scale one looks, from a local group to a Yearly Meeting or larger organization, have always “struck at my life,” to borrow Fox’s phrase. They have seemed a standing reproach, a scandal (literally a cause of stumbling) that discourages those inside the group, and outside the group, in different ways.
Now, I have long understood that unity is not an accomplisment, something to be achieved once and for all.  Rather it is a process, a way of living (including how we think and feel). But I was led recently to reflect on what makes that process possible, and how to feel after unity when diversity threatens my inward peace.  Recently I happened to read two disparate things, which together sparked some reflection. The first thing was a recent announcement from Friends General Conference (FGC), and the second was a passage from Origen’s Contra Celsum.

The announcement from FGC invites us to their January conference on Changing Times.  The topics and leaders seem interesting and useful for individual Friends and meetings.  Though I am not free to attend, I can imagine it will be a good time.

But I have to say that there was some wording in the announcement that put me off. As always this feeling makes me question myself.  It is more and more the custom, at least among liberal Friends, to speak of “Spirit,” as in such harmless phrasing as, “In these changing times, how is Spirit moving among us? Join Friends from across North America in seeking what messages Spirit offers us…”

I am not going to write much about why I have this reaction, but just to be explicit before going on to the main point of this essay:  In present usage, the label “Spirit” can mean anything, and the meaning really is completely idiosyncratic.    I admit readily  that this very inclusive usage, which many people whom I respect and love have adopted, has the virtue of acknowledging that the Divine One is not the same as the names we use for it/her/him. When Moses demanded the name of the Being in the burning bush, the voice answered “I am ‘I am’…Say  ‘I Am’ sent you.”    But “Spirit” is at least vague as “Light,” and liable to some of the same tendency to individualism:  Have you not. heard someone speak of “your light” and “my light” and such like?  When I say “Spirit says to me…”  how can you know that I don’t just mean “This is what I think”?  The word can behave as a shifter (to use a linguistic term) like the pronoun “I,” which means always “the one who happens to be speaking it.”

Well, ok, enough about that for now. The point here is that this language, intended to be inclusive and irenic, does not appeal to me, and indeed is aversive.   So what is the consequence of this? Well, I feel that on this point, I am in the minority, and out of solidarity with my spiritual community.  It is reflective of the tendency in liberal Quakerism to retreat from any explicit relationship to Christianity.  FAQs about Quakerism often use roundabout statements like “Quakerism has deep Christian roots” with t the implication is that most of us have now moved beyond that.  (During one stint as recording clerk for my yearly meeting, I was once gently rebuked (in private) for using the words “the Spirit” in writing a minute, as opposed to just “Spirit.” Recall the story of “shibboleth” in Judges 12.).

This feels to me like faction, and of course the modern questions that swirl around the old question “Who do you say that I am?” have led to real separations, with much attendant pain and sin, among Friends as well as others.   All this is a source of continued uneasiness and sorrow for me, and the latest FCC announcement stirred this up again.

At the same time that I got the FGC announcement, I was reading slowly through Origen’s great treatise Contra Celsum (Against Celsus), written somewhere around 248 C.E. Celsus was an able Pagan critic of Christianity, who had composed a comprehensive attack on the emerging faith in the second century.  Though it was old news by Origen’s time, the great teacher was asked to answer Celsus point by point, because Celsus’s criticisms were still being used to justify attacks on Christians, who were still experiencing waves of severe persecution (Origen. himself would be severely tortured under Decius a few years later).

At one point, Celsus argues that Christianity is shown to be false because there are so many factions* within the movement.  If they’ve got ahold of a truth, how could there be any disagreement?  Origen answers (remember, read “heresy” as “way of thinking”)

heresies of different kinds have never originated from any matter in which the principle involved was not important and beneficial to human life. For since the science of medicine is useful and necessary to the human race, and many are the points of dispute in it respecting the manner of curing bodies, there are found, for this reason, numerous heresies confessedly prevailing in the science of medicine among the Greeks, and also, I suppose, among those barbarous nations who profess to employ medicine.

And, again, since philosophy makes a profession of the truth, and promises a knowledge of existing things with a view to the regulation of life, and endeavours to teach what is advantageous to our race, and since the investigation of these matters is attended with great differences of opinion, innumerable heresies have consequently sprung up in philosophy, some of which are more celebrated than others.

Even Judaism itself afforded a pretext for the origination of heresies, in the different acceptation accorded to the writings of Moses and those of the prophets.

So, then, seeing Christianity appeared an object of veneration to men, not to the more servile class alone, as Celsus supposes, but to many among the Greeks who were devoted to literary pursuits, there necessarily originated heresies — not at all, however, as the result of faction and strife, but through the earnest desire of many literary men to become acquainted with the doctrines of Christianity. The consequence of which was, that, taking in different acceptations those discourses which were believed by all to be divine, there arose heresies, which received their names from those individuals who admired, indeed, the origin of Christianity, but who were led, in some way or other, by certain plausible reasons, to discordant views.

And yet no one would act rationally in avoiding medicine because of its heresies; nor would he who aimed at that which is seemly entertain a hatred of philosophy, and adduce its many heresies as a pretext for his antipathy. And so neither are the sacred books of Moses and the prophets to be condemned on account of the heresies in Judaism. (Chadwick’s translation, Book III.12)

This brought to mind Paul’s admonition about differences in practice in the letter to the Romans, in which he recognizes differences in practice as to diet, or the necessity of setting aside one day of the week, as opposed to holding all days alike.  “Let everyone live fully according to their own understanding.”  The picture that emerges is of a community whose faith and practice is fluid and experimental on many points, and in which each person is free to seek their own discipline.  In such a community, the ruling constraint is love.  This reflective, open stance is related to the conviction that our individual spiritual health is, in the end, God’s work.  As Paul comments, it will be for each of us to render account to God.  The community life plays its part, as each of us finds our place and work within the body of Christ, and here again, Paul’s letters reflect a community in which each person’s gifts emerge, and are seen and accorded respect — and are used and coordinated with others’ for the health of the whole body, under the direction of the head, which is Christ.

But here, then, is a continued matter of concern: When my brother or sister speaks of “Spirit,” what spirit do they mean?  For Paul trusts that differences in faith and practice are to be accepted in the fellowship because each member adopts their discipline, their way of life, as a way to. be faithful followers of Christ: “The one that eats [with no restrictions] eats for the Lord, because they give thanks to the Lord; the one that refrains from eating [certain foods] refrains for the Lord, giving thanks to the Lord…And whether we live or die, we are the Lord’s.”

The goal is more and more to be transformed by the Spirit into conformity with Christ, though each of us will have our own path to follow.   It was in seeking to understand and live the gospel of freedom and renewal that I was led to Friends long ago. The chowder of different spiritualities that must characterize any group of active seekers has been from the beginning a gift and a delight.  It has, however,  been a matter of sorrow, even loneliness, to see Quakerism (in my part of the world) moving into a “post-Christian” norm.   The most important loss is the decreased opportunity to learn from and with others who have the same goal that I do, even if they are coming at it from quite different directions and with different emphases and “heresies” — ways of thinking.

One more thing:  Living in charity, and non-judging, we each taste the fruits that are borne by lives and ways of being, and take our part in the cultivation of our own and others’ growth.   But we need to make sure that our charity towards each other’s experimental, unfolding lives in God is not only a matter of rhetoric, of speaking unity but not doing it, not continuing to learn from each other.  This will require a commitment to dialogue.  It is good to encourage each other to speak each in our own heart language;  it is good to learn to “listen in tongues.”  But often, I think, these are practiced in so casual and uninquisitive a manner that they leave us unchanged, and leave our unity unstrengthened by loving but probing dialogue.

Translation, after all,  is an active and constructive process:  you need to really come to know the other tongue on its own terms, before trying to put it into your language.  The differences often require you to question your own assumptions.  In the process, you become very aware that even though you may have produced version in your own tongue, it is a shadow of the original, and that some of the truths of each language are lost in the process.  The learning is intentional and endless.

So,too, in our meetings, I would hope the learning will be intentional and endless, and the love, as well.

* The word “heresy” appears in Origen and of course in the passages from Paul I will quote later.  But recall that this meant, in those times, “faction” and in fact is a Greek word that means “a choice, a choosing; a way of thinking.”   It did not necessarily have the implications of false opinion that it carries in later centuries, though some factions were considered harmful or even blasphemous.

§ 11 Responses to Some reflections on “heresy” and charity

  • Bill Samuel says:

    I think one important lesson is that some efforts at inclusivity wind up being exclusive in some ways in practice. I have known many Christ-centered Friends who have left Friends because it didn’t seem inclusive of their Christian faith. If it is important to you that Christ be at the center of worship and practice, it is hard to feel at home among liberal Friends.

    On the organizational scale, one result has been that the efforts of the mid-20th century to bring back together groups that had schismed earlier have tended to wind up with the more liberal, less Christ-centered, group winds up becoming dominant and many from the more Christ-centered don’t feel at home. This doesn’t need to be, and often is not, a deliberate effort to exclude anyone, but it winds up having that effect.

    Like

    • briandrayton says:

      Thanks for this comment, Bill. As you say in your last sentence, the exclusive effect is not (well, mostly not) intentional. This is why I appreciated Origen’s attitude — no one can accuse him of timidity, and from that place of commitment, he can tolerate a certain amount of mess, since Christ’s ministry of reconciliation is a work in progress.
      I am sympathetic to Christian Friends who find to their sorrow that they must seek another community. Such a course has been recommended to me occasionally. But I still have such confidence in the “gospel as traditionally held by Friends” (despite my being at variance with it on some points) that I want to witness to it (even as I keep learning its implications) where I am; call it my “vow” of stability. Though there have been days when I want to run off into the woods, so to speak.
      I do think that our besetting spiritual weakness is a kind of lukewarmness, but I also see the Lord at work, among Friends in our “mixture” as in the rest of the world.

      Like

  • Dan Davenport says:

    Thank you Brian.

    The drift to a post-Christian Quakerism gives me similar misgivings as you describe and a sense of loss.

    <

    div>Dan Davenport 

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

    Like

    • briandrayton says:

      Thanks for this, Dan. I would be interested to hear a little about how you are balancing things for yourself in this regard.
      — Brian

      Like

      • Dan Davenport says:

        Hi Brian,

        I kicked myself when I saw your query. Should have kept my mouth shut…

        I thank you for the gifts you have given me and others. You repeatedly articulate what we feel or sense but can’t or don’t do nearly as well or as tenderly. It is a strong rebuff to the sense of isolation or despair that lurks at the door.

        I begin by acknowledging I am not a scholar or nearly as widely read as you are. I mostly kept my focus on the local meeting I attend in Oregon for the last 15 years, avoiding yearly meeting and other larger involvements when I could. Nevertheless, I am aware of some trends in Liberal Quakerism; I can see them in my Meeting and Quarter. And I had occasion to attend FGC Gathering last summer.

        I am troubled by the insistence of saying “Spirit” by many. It is becoming a new benchmark. To say something more specific is less and less acceptable to many. I echo your observation that this is a move toward more individualism in the Society. It might even be a drift toward splintering. And what does it mean when used by one who self identifies as a Non-theist Friend?

        Dismissing the roots of Quakerism with a few sentences seems to me like the leaves and branches saying to the trunk and roots that they don’t need them. Jesus’ strong words regarding the vine and branches in John 15:6 will be rejected because he said them, or because he is said to have said them, and that is all irrelevant anyway…

        Over the years, I have repeatedly checked myself and edited what I say when moved to stand in Meeting for Worship in order not to offend. This a mix of real tenderness for the group and cowardly avoidance. So, the Meeting regards me safe enough to have appointed me Clerk. One “perk” of this position is to choose a reading at the beginning of Meeting for Worship for Business. Prior clerks have done a variety of things. I have been using quotations from Early Friends and passages of Scripture. It has sometimes felt feeble, but I have always had some sense of what to use each month. After the first few months, my Clerking Support Committee told me I needed to say something of why I chose a particular reading, so I have been given an opportunity to do a little teaching.

        After I saw your query to me, I realized I needed to be more courageous. So on Sunday the 17th, I will read a portion of Fox’s Epistle 17 as rendered by Terry Wallace in QuakerPsalms A Book of Devotions. The phrase repeated most often in the selection is “Mind the Light”. The subject of light has come up several times recently in after-meeting conversation. One person even noted that Early Friends were referring to Jesus when they talked about the Light, but the way it was phrased sounded similar to other formulations that dismiss the relevance of what Early Friends said or believed. Fox makes clear in the Epistle that the Light is Christ. In my comments, I can at least say to my folks that Minding the Light is central to worship and transforms what happens beyond. Meeting for Worship for Business should see both. Minding the Light will, indeed it must, transform the way we do business. It is not just a matter of Quaker Practice or the Good Order of Friends; these seem to me to have become forms and human-manufactured. We have the possibility of being taught what to do and given the power to do it.

        If I am in the inward place I should be on Sunday, I will sense if worship begins to dissipate and call folks back into the Silence. Perhaps a reminder of a phrase from the Epistle will be the prophetic word needed. Please pray for me that I will be faithful.

        Dan Davenport

        Like

  • Chris Jorgenson says:

    Hi Brian, I resonate with so much in this blog. I look for people who seem to be going my direction, hopefully further along than I. When people glorify diversity, I bring up that desire for fellow travelers as a way to feel we’re getting support on the path. Diversity has its rewards – but do we really know each other “in that which is eternal” in order to understand and learn from that diversity? I don’t think I know. I sometimes wonder: when we hold someone in the light, what does that mean to you? When someone asks for prayer, what does that mean for the non-theist? Our practice – which among unprogrammed Friends is perhaps what we hold as our most important distinctive – is based on faith. What faith? (I pick faith rather than belief). Faith means trust. In what do we trust. In this fragile, liminal time I find faith tested. I find little energy for leadership among us, people drawing back and looking for comfort, conflicts becoming exaggerated. Where is our rock? I find love and community among Friends to be an important part of my resilience, but it’s not the rock. I think my little bible reflection group is the closest to fellow travelers that I have. I have assumed that one doesn’t rely upon anything larger than a chosen small group. However, when our meeting looks for unity, that’s when I wonder about whether our lack of common ground may be a real deficit.

    Meanwhile, I have my finger in so many pies, so many committees and projects, it’s a little ridiculous.

    I’m writing this from my father’s living room. I’m here in Iowa until March (aside from a trip to Cuba and Oregon). Yet another football game is blaring on the television in the other room, a way to while away a sub zero day, and evening, and several days a week. So I have time, except for cooking and tending to Dad, except for the tasks for all those committees and projects and meetings online galore.

    Thanks for your ruminations, Brian. Hasta pronto, Chris

    >

    Like

    • briandrayton says:

      Dear Chris,

       I just found this “unapproved” comment iin my WordPress staging area. I am so sorry that I hadn’t seen it before. Thank you for writing it!

       All I can say is that you speak my mind. So often I feel the condition of meetings to be so scattered that it is draining and discouraging. When I am able by grace to find the Presence that I know as Christ, I feel rejuvenatied (inwardly!) and sense what power is available there. When I find myself with others who sometimes have that experience also, it is like rain after a drought.

      Love from New Hampsthire!

      Like

  • Ellis Hein says:

    Some years ago I determined to come to a working definition of the word “spirit”. So I searched through Scripture, noting how each instance was used and what nuances I could observe. Several things quickly became obvious. “Spirit” and “breath” are the same word and are used in ways to indicate that which gives life. So “I will pour out my spirit on all flesh…” is a statement of pouring upon us that creational breath that made us living beings at the beginning. Careful reading does not lead to nice, tidy divisions as demanded by trinitarian theology. “Man shall not live by bread alone but by every word proceeding from the mouth of God.” “In the beginning was the Word…in him was life and the life was the light of men.” “The Word was made flesh and dwelt among us.” “The words I speak to you these are spirit, these are life.” So the word/words proceeding out of the mouth of God, are spirit/breath. Not everything made alive by a spirit is desirable. The evil spirit tempted/tempts humanity to live as though we can be our own source of life, our own God. But our words produce death not life. If we hungered after life as much as many hunger after inclusivity, we would not be afraid of the language of life. It is in living demonstration of that unquenchable life that we induce in others a hunger and thirst after righteousness. The Word made flesh speaks life. “Incline your ear. Listen that your soul may live. Delight yourself in fatness of listening.”(From Isaiah 55)

    Like

    • briandrayton says:

      Ellis, your message got lost in the ether, as did Chris Jorgenson’s just above here. I apologize.

      Now that I can read what you sent, I can only say thank you, and especially for this sentence: ”If we hungered after life as much as many hunger after inclusivity, we would not be afraid of the language of life.” Getting clear about what we are hungering for is sometimes the grace we need– breaking into the clearing after hacking through the undergrowth.

      Thank you for this. I will return to it.

      — Brian

      Like

  • briandrayton says:

    Thanks for this, Dan. I think you are on the right track — I have seen meetings where Christian Friends feel somehow cowed by the apparently dominant kind of spirituality, but it has seemed to me that the right response is to keep simply to what one knows, so that all the critters in the choir are audible. After all, the aim is not self-assertion, but obedience and clarity when called upon to make mention of the story one feels a part of, that long history of revelation and reconciliation and experimental living, sticking to
    “that which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we have looked upon, and our hands have handled of the word of life….”

    Like

    • dandave00e877ad7e says:

      Thank you Brian,

      Thank whoever was praying for me as regards that Meeting I was clerking on the 20th. I felt strengthened in the “inner man”. The silence went deep as I read the poem based on Epistle 17 aloud. I was given to expound on it, especially as it was pertinent to the difficult issues facing our Meeting, particularly those we faced that day. The Meeting was long and tiring, but also refreshing in a way I don’t often feel in Meeting for Worship for Business. I felt a surge of joy afterward (as well as relief).

      Gratefully,

      Dan Davenport

      Like

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Some reflections on “heresy” and charity at Amor vincat.

meta